‘It is our collective wish that Rahul Gandhi should take up office as LoP’: Kishori Lal Sharma | India News – Times of India


NEW DELHI: Congress MP from Amethi, Kishori Lal Sharma said that it is the collective desire of the party for Rahul Gandhi to take up office as Leader of the Opposition.
“Kharge ji is our leader, and it is our collective wish, as well as the party’s wish,” Sharma said.
This statement follows the Congress Working Committee‘s recent resolution, which sources indicate called for Rahul Gandhi to be appointed as the Leader of the Opposition in the Lok Sabha.
On Sonia Gandhi’s re-election as the chairperson of the Congress parliamentary party, Kishori Lal Sharma said, “I am very happy because under her (Sonia Gandhi) guidance I will work as an MP in the Parliament.”
Sonia Gandhi was re-elected as the Chairperson of the Congress Parliamentary Party at the CPP meeting held at the Central Hall of Parliament on Saturday.
At a meeting of party MPs, Congress president Mallikarjun Kharge proposed Sonia Gandhi’s name as the chairperson of the parliamentary party.
After being unanimously re-elected as the chairperson of the Congress parliamentary party on Saturday, former party president Sonia Gandhi asked the party members to remain proactive and vigilant and not to allow the ruling party to muzzle and stifle the Parliament which the NDA has done in the last decade.
She also described the Lok Sabha election results as a “political and moral defeat” of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, who, she said, has lost the moral right to leadership.
She also lauded the party members for demonstrating resilience while contesting the Lok Sabha elections and praised the party for functioning as a collective in the face of the “mighty and malevolent” ruling party.
The newly inducted Congress Parliamentary Party Chairperson greeted and congratulated all the newly elected MPs for contesting the polls under challenging circumstances where the incumbent reeled out a campaign against the opposition and its leaders that was “full of lies and defamation.”
Meanwhile, ahead of an upcoming gratitude meeting, Congress MP from Amethi, Kishori Lal Sharma, emphasized the significance of the tradition, stating, “It is a tradition where we thank the party workers after the election, and this is a very important meeting.”
Kishori Lal Sharma emerged victorious by 5,39,228 votes defeating BJP’s Smriti Irwith a margin of 1,67,196 votes in the Lok Sabha election 2024.
In 2019, Smriti Irani won the seat of Amethi by defeating Rahul Gandhi by a margin of over 55,000 votes.
Earlier, Kishori Lal Sharma regarded his victory as the public’s victory.
Speaking with ANI, the newly elected MP said, “I have won this seat and this is the victory of the public.”
The counting of the 2024 Lok Sabha elections was held on Tuesday. According to the Election Commission of India, the Samajwadi Party (SP) won 37 seats, the BJP won 33, Congress won 6, Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) won 2, and Aazad Samaj Party (Kanshi Ram) and Apna Dal (Soneylal) won 1 seat each in the Lok Sabha elections in Uttar Pradesh.


Share This


Wordpress (0)
Disqus ( )