Assam Lok Sabha Election 2024 Exit Poll Results: Exit polls predict landslide victory for BJP with 12 out of 14 seats in Assam | India News – Times of India


NEW DELHI: The BJP-led NDA is expected to win 12 out of 14 Lok Sabha seats, Congress will win in one seat while AIDUF is set to win one seat in Assam, according to the VMR Lok Sabha exit polls released on Saturday.
All 14 constituencies in the state of Assam that went to polls in the first three phases of the Lok Sabha elections 2024, posted a new record voter turnout of 81.56%, going past the last highest in the state’s history registered five years ago by the thinnest of margins (0.01%).
Over 2.45 crore people have been enrolled in the state’s electoral rolls with almost an equal number of male and female voters besides 404 from the third gender.
The constituencies that are awaited for their final outcome on June 4 are Kaziranga, Sonitpur, Lakhimpur, Dibrugarh, Darrang-Udalguri, Diphu, Karimganj, Silchar, Dhubri, Kokrajhar, Barpeta, Guwahati.
Among the 14 Lok Sabha seats, 11 seats are unreserved, two are reserved for Scheduled Tribe (ST) candidates, and one is reserved for Scheduled Caste (SC) candidates.
Previous elections
In the 2014 elections, the BJP secured 7 out of the 14 Lok Sabha seats, while the Congress and the All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) each won three seats, and one seat went to an Independent candidate.
In the 2019 elections, BJP had contested in 10 seats, AGP in three and Bodoland People’s Front (BPF) in one. BJP won 9 seats. BJP dumped BPF in 2020 and started a new partnership with UPPL.
Voter turnout
Guwahati constituency recorded the second lowest turnout. Dhubri constituency, surpassed its previous record of the highest voter turnout among all the state’s Lok Sabha constituencies, setting a new one of 92.08% followed by Barpeta with 81.02%, Kokrajhar with 80.44%.
This voter turnout in Dhubri in the last phase ended up with the highest turnout among all the three phases, according to the final report issued by EC.
With over 26 lakh voters, the highest in the state, Dhubri’s electorate increased by more than 43% over that of 2019 due to the reorganisation of the constituency along with other constituencies during the delimitation exercise last year. This was the first election in the state after delimitation.
Tribal-majority Diphu, which encompasses the two hill districts of the state, recorded the lowest turnout of 75.74%.


Share This


Wordpress (0)
Disqus ( )