Sanitation Workers, Members Of Transgender Community Invited To Modi’s Swearing-In Ceremony

Sanitation Workers, Members Of Transgender Community Invited To Modi’s Swearing-In Ceremony

Modi Cabinet 2024 Oath Ceremony: About 50 people from the transgender community have been invited to attend the swearing-in ceremony of Prime Minister-designate Narendra Modi and the new cabinet of ministers. Sanitation workers have also been extended an invite in an unprecedented move that aims to promote inclusivity. The ceremony is set to begin at 7:15 pm at the Rashtrapati Bhavan.

Before the event, BJP MP and former Social Justice and Empowerment Minister Virendra Kumar felicitated the community members at his residence, news agency PTI reported. This gesture is in line with Prime Minister Modi’s call for ‘sabka saath sabka vishwas and sabha prayas’ (together with all, trust of all, and efforts by all).

“Including people from the transgender community in the ceremony is to enhance the inclusivity message of the PM,” Kumar told the media. “This is the first time that people from the transgender community are formally invited for the swearing-in ceremony,” he added, as quoted by PTI.

Kumar emphasised that these participants have significantly contributed to the empowerment of the transgender community.

Sonam Kinnar from the Uttar Pradesh BJP unit expressed her enthusiasm, stating, “We have come here to give blessings to the new government. We are saddened that PM Modi did not receive the number of seats as expected due to caste-based politics, but we have full confidence in our PM and believe the situation will improve.”

BJP MP and former Jal Shakti minister Gajendra Singh Shekhawat also honoured sanitation workers, recognising their essential contributions. Both communities’ representatives were acknowledged for their roles in societal empowerment.

ALSO READ | Muizzu, Wickremesinghe Arrive In Delhi To Attend Modi’s Swearing-In Ceremony: Watch

Maldives President Mohamed Muizzu Among Top Leaders Attending Modi 3.0 Oath Ceremony

Notably, top leaders from India’s neighbourhood and the Indian Ocean region have also arrived in Delhi to attend the ceremony. Dignitaries include Maldives President Mohamed Muizzu, Nepal Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal ‘Prachanda’, and Sri Lankan President Ranil Wickremesinghe. Mauritius Prime Minister Pravind Kumar Jugnauth and Bhutanese Prime Minister Tshering Tobgay have also reached Delhi, alongside Bangladesh President Sheikh Hasina and Seychelles Vice-President Ahmed Afif, who arrived on Saturday.

Muizzu’s visit is particularly significant amid recent strains in India-Maldives relations and marks his first visit to India since assuming office on 17 November last year.

Narendra Modi is set to take the oath of office for a third consecutive term, following two tenures where the BJP held a majority. This milestone places him on par with Jawaharlal Nehru, India’s first Prime Minister, who won the general elections in 1952, 1957, and 1962.

Share This


Wordpress (0)
Disqus ( )