Soreng-Chakung Assembly Election Result 2024: Sikkim CM P S Tamang wins | India News – Times of India


NEW DELHI: Sikkim chief minister and Sikkim Krantikari Morcha supremo P S Tamang won the Soreng-Chakung Assembly seat.
Soreng-Chakung Assembly constituency, nestled amidst the serene landscapes of Sikkim, holds a significant place as one of the 32 assembly constituencies in the state. It constitutes an integral part of the Sikkim Lok Sabha constituency, playing a crucial role in shaping the political landscape of the region.
In the 2019 Sikkim Legislative Assembly elections, Aditya Tamang of the Sikkim Krantikari Morcha (SKM) emerged victorious with 6,580 votes, securing 50.08% of the total votes. Sancha Raj Subba of the Sikkim Democratic Front (SDF) closely followed with 6,372 votes, accounting for 48.49% of the votes. Similarly, in the 2014 elections, Ram Bahadur Subba of the SDF clinched victory with 6,596 votes, capturing 55.40% of the total votes, while Bharati Sharma of the SKM secured 4,667 votes, constituting 39.20% of the votes.
The electoral dynamics of Soreng-Chakung witnessed the assembly elections coincide with the Lok Sabha elections, fostering an environment of active political participation. Noteworthy candidates vying for the Soreng-Chakung assembly seat in the 2024 elections include Purna Singh Subba from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), P S Tamang from the Sikkim Krantikari Morcha, Pobin Hang Subba from the Citizen Action Party-Sikkim, and Dr. A D Subba from the Sikkim Democratic Front.


Share This


Wordpress (0)
Disqus ( )